Congress members come out in support of Vinay Kulkarni

Dharwad: A day after BJP’s members protested seeking the resignation of Minister Vinay Kulkarni, a large number of Congress members came out in his support and condemned the “malicious campaign against their leader.”

Thousands of Congress members took part in the large protest rally that began from Kalabhavan which was jointly organised by Hubballi Dharwad Mahanagar Zilla unit and Rural District unit of the Congress.

Former Minister S R Morey, MLA Prasad Abbayya, MLC Srinivas Mane and several other leaders, including Nagaraj Chabbi, Altaf Hallur, Vedavyas Koulagi and Sadanand Danganavar, led the protest.

They took exception to the BJP’s move that although the accused in the murder of BJP leader Yogishgouda Goudar had been arrested and the matter was being heard by the court, the BJP leaders were unnecessarily dragging the name of the minister in the case.

They alleged that keeping in mind the next elections, a malicious campaign had been launched by the BJP leaders against Kulkarni.

The protesters raised slogans against the BJP leaders throughout the protest march, particularly Leader of Opposition in the Assembly Jagadish Shettar, MP Pralhad Joshi and former chief minister B S Yeddyurappa.

They said that unable to digest the popularity of the minister, especially in the wake of the Lingayat movement that was spreading across the state now, the BJP leaders were hellbent on damaging the image of Minister Vinay Kulkarni.

They then submitted a memorandum to the deputy commissioner seeking action against those involved in misleading campaign against the minister.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.